Antagonize (Feat)

From Epic Path
Jump to: navigation, search


Whether with biting remarks, hurtful words, or impolite gestures, you are adept at making creatures angry with you.

Prerequisites: Level 1, <Diplomacy 1 rank OR Intimidate 1 rank>

Unlocks: Enforcer (Feat), Fearsome Barricade (Feat)

Benefit: You can attempt either a Diplomacy or an Intimidate check to make creatures respond to you with hostility. No matter which skill you use, antagonizing a creature requires a standard action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity, and has a DC equal to target creature's Maneuver Defense. You cannot make this check against a creature that does not have a language you speak, or you cannot otherwise make understand you, or has an Intelligence score of 3 or lower. The referee adjudicates all unusual circumstances. Before you make these checks, you may make a Sense Motive check (against an Easy DC based on the campaign level) as a swift action to gain a circumstance bonus on these Diplomacy or Intimidate checks equal to your Charisma bonus until the end of your next turn. The benefits you gain for this check depend on the skill you use. This is a mind-affecting effect.

  • Diplomacy: You fluster your enemy. Until the start of your next turn, the target takes a -2 penalty on all attack rolls it makes against creatures other than you, and it suffers a 10% spell failure chance on all spells, spell-like, or supernatural abilities that do not target you or fail to include you within their area of effect.
  • Intimidate: You drive the creature into a rage. On its next turn, the target must attempt to make a melee attack against you, make a ranged attack against you, target you with a spell or ability, or include you in the area of a spell or ability. If it does not, the target takes a -2 penalty on all attack rolls it makes against creatures other than you, and it suffers a 10% spell failure chance on all spells, spell-like, or supernatural abilities that do not target you or fail to include you within their area of effect. The effect ends if the creature is prevented from attacking you or attempting to do so would harm it (for example, if you are on the other side of a chasm or a Pillar of Fire). If it cannot attack you on its turn, you may make the check again as an immediate action to extend the effect for 1 round (but cannot extend it thereafter). The effect ends as soon as the creature attacks you.

Once you have targeted a creature with this ability, you cannot target it again for 24 hours.