Divinity

From Epic Path
Jump to: navigation, search

Description

Ability Score Used: Choose One
Usable Untrained? No (Bailiwick)
Armor Check Penalty Applies? No


Only Clerics and Paladins may learn this bailiwick skill. No other class may place ranks in it unless they have an ability which specifically states they may put ranks into a bailiwick skill not normally offered by their class. A bailiwick skill is a skill that represents the core competency of a style of adventure, and has many useful applications.

The divinity skill is an expression of your practical knowledge of the divine and its effects. For each rank a character places in divinity, the character receives a free rank in Knowledge (Religion). Note that no character may ever have more ranks in a skill than her character level.

Each character class gains a single bailiwick skill at character creation, and this bailiwick skill is always a natural talent for your character. When you place your first rank in this skill, you must select one of your ability modifiers, and use that ability modifier as the key ability modifier for this skill. Once selected, this ability modifier may not be changed, except through the Character Retraining rules. Natural talent skills never suffer an armor check penalty, even if you associate that skill with your STR or DEX modifier.

If you gain a second bailiwick skill (usually through a racial trait), it is not automatically a natural talent (even though you typically get to choose which of your ability score modifiers is aligned to the second bailiwick skill). Armor check penalties do apply to the second bailiwick skill if you choose to associate it with your STR or DEX modifier, and you do not gain matching ranks in the linked skill for that bailiwick skill (in the case of Divinity, Knowledge (Religion)).

As with all skills, the uses below are merely suggestions, and by no means the full gamut of possible ways a skill can be used. Players and GM's are encouraged to find additional ways to use each skill.

Identify A Spell

You can attempt to identify a spell or spell-like ability as it is being cast. This may provide useful information about how it can be resisted, or what secondary effects it might inflict.

Identifying a spell as it is being cast requires no action, but you must be able to clearly see the spell as it is being cast, and this incurs the same penalties as a Perception check due to distance, poor conditions, and other factors.

Action Required:

Free action, which can be performed outside of your turn.

DC of Check:

10 + double the caster's level or CR

Modifiers to Check
  • Distance To Caster: Like perception checks, you take a -1 penalty to your divinity check to identify a spell being cast for every 10 feet of distance between you and the target (cumulative).
  • Poor Conditions: Any conditions which hamper your ability to see the target, such as rain, fog, etc. inflict a penalty to your check. This ranges from -2 to -20, depending on how severely the conditions affect your perception of the target. A -2 penalty might be caused by several intervening creatures, while a -20 penalty might be caused by the target having total concealment from a source like Displacement (Spell). The GM is the final arbiter of how badly the conditions affect your check. Note that any extraordinary senses you have, such as darkvision or blindsense should be mentioned to the GM when they are assessing this penalty, as they may significantly reduce or eliminate it.
Take 10? / Take 20?

Yes

Allows Assists?

No

Results of Success

You successfully identify the spell or spell-like ability being cast.

Consequences of Failure

You are unable to determine what the spell or spell-like ability is.

Retry Allowed?

No

Provokes AOO?

No

Obscure Alignment

You can hide your alignment from discovery by spells and abilities which allow someone to determine your alignment. Doing so lasts until the beginning of your next turn, though you may expend a swift action each round after the first to sustain the effect. While sustaining this effect is not a stance, it can be disrupted in exactly the same ways that stances are broken – either by being knocked prone, or subjected to any effect which reduces your number of available actions. Obscure alignment can be used or sustained in the same round(s) in which you are also using a stance.

If your character's alignment is so powerful that it produces an aura, this skill use also suppresses the ability for others to detect that aura. Any benefits provided to you or your allies by your aura continue to operate as before, but observing enemies are unable to detect the aura that is providing these benefits.

You only need to roll the divinity check once, when the effect is first activated, even if you sustain the effect for multiple rounds.

Action Required:

Standard Action, and a swift action each round after the first to sustain the effect (if desired).

DC of Check:

A Challenging DC for your character level.

Modifiers to Check

You can reduce the time taken to obscure your alignment. To initiate it as a move action, the DC increases by +5. As a swift action or immediate action, the DC increases by +10.

Take 10? / Take 20?

No

Allows Assists?

No

Results of Success

The subject is unable to determine your alignment, just as though you have no alignment at all.

Consequences of Failure

If you fail the check, or you cease sustaining the effect, your true alignment becomes visible to anyone who is capable of discerning it.

Retry Allowed?

Yes

Provokes AOO?

No

Identify Magic Item

You can use divinity to identify the properties and command words (if any) of a magic item you are holding. This is identical to the Naturalism, Reason, Spellcraft, Spycraft, and Warfare ability to identify magic items. It is also very similar to the Barter ability, except that it is faster.

Divinity may also be used to assist another party member's attempt at determining the properties of a magic item, even if the other party member is using a different skill to make the check.

Action Required:

3 rounds per item you are attempting to identify

DC of Check:

10 + double the caster level of the item

Modifiers to Check

-

Take 10? / Take 20?

No

Allows Assists?

Yes (up to 5 allies).

Results of Success

Item is identified, including the command words (if any) needed to trigger its magical properties.

Consequences of Failure

Item is not identified

Retry Allowed?

You must wait 24 hours before retrying on the same item. Any attempts in the meantime always fail.

Provokes AOO?

Yes

Evaluate Party Health

Divinity can be used to determine the exact extent of any injuries affecting all allies within 30 feet of you.

As a reminder, you can always tell, at a glance, the general health of any creature, among the following statuses: Unharmed, Injured, Bloodied, Staggered, Unconscious, or Dead. This does not require a skill check, and anyone can do it. It is only when you want to know the precise amount of hit points a creature has lost that a divinity check is necessary.

Action Required:

Standard action

DC of Check:

Average DC versus the highest character level of all allies in range.

Modifiers to Check
  • Hurried Assessment: You can reduce the action required to evaluate party health to a move action by adding +5 to the DC of the check. You can reduce it to a swift action by adding +10 to the DC of the check.
  • Wider Evaluation: You can increase the radius of evaluate party health beyond 30 feet, by adding +5 to the DC of the check for each additional 5 feet of radius you wish to add (cumulative).
Take 10? / Take 20?

No

Allows Assists?

No

Results of Success

You learn exactly how many hit points each ally within the range of the skill use has remaining, and/or how much damage each ally in range has sustained. In addition, if any of your allies in range are Dying or Stabilized, you learn this information as well.

Consequences of Failure

You are unable to determine the precise degree of injury of your allies. You only know their general health status: Unharmed, Injured, Bloodied, Staggered, Unconscious, or Dead.

Retry Allowed?

Yes, you can try again with another standard action.

Provokes AOO?

No

Craft Magic Item

When combined with the Creator feat, divinity can be used to create magic items.

A day of crafting a magic item is 8 uninterrupted hours of work in an appropriate work space. While you can do other things during that day, you must have 8 consecutive hours in your work space for it to count towards the number of days required to make the magic item. Working fewer than 8 hours at a time fails to reduce the number of days required to finish the work – you can't work fractions of days and then add them together to create a day of work.

Days of work need not be consecutive. You can take breaks or go adventuring, then come back and keep working, and this does not harm the final product in any way, except to delay its completion date. However, if you begin working on a different magic item before the first one is finished, all work on the first one is lost, and any components used for its creation are destroyed, just as if you had failed the check.

Action Required:

2 days, +1 day per caster level of the item being created.

You can never reduce the time to create a magic item below 3 days, no matter how well you roll.

DC of Check:
  • If your skill check result is at least an Easy DC for your current level, but less than an Average DC the time required to complete the magic item is increased by 1 day OR 10%, whichever is worse.
  • If your skill check result is at least an Average DC for your current level, but less than a Challenging DC, the required time to complete the magic item is unchanged.
  • If you roll grater than or equal to a Challenging DC for your current level, but less than an Impossible DC, the required time to complete the retraining is reduced by 1 day OR 10%, whichever is better.
  • If you roll greater than or equal to an Impossible DC for your current level, the required time to complete the retraining is reduced by 3 days OR 25%, whichever is better.
Modifiers to Check

If you are attempting to create a magic item that has more than one enchantment on it, the caster level of the item is determined by taking the highest caster level of the enchantments you wish to add, and then adding +3 caster levels to that number for each additional enchantment you are adding after the first. The maximum caster level of an item is 35, and if an item's caster level is above 21, you cannot create that item until you have at least 21 ranks in your bailiwick skill.

Take 10? / Take 20?

No

Allows Assists?

Yes, but only if each assisting ally has Cooperative Crafting (Feat). Up to 5 allies with that feat may assist.

Results of Success

You create the magic item after the designated number of days.

Consequences of Failure
  • If you fail to achieve at least an Easy DC for your current level, or you roll a natural 1 on the die, the attempt fails. The components you intended to use in the item's creation are destroyed, including any monetary expenses for the item. This failure occurs on the final day of the item's creation, meaning you also lose a number of days equal to its unmodified creation time (minimum 3 days).
Retry Allowed?

Yes, though you must procure new components to replace the destroyed ones, and begin the process again. You gain a +5 circumstance bonus on each retry after a failure, as you incorporate your new knowledge of what not to do.

Provokes AOO?

Yes. Don't try this during combat.

Selective Alignment (Epic)

You can make your alignment appear to be anything you want it to be. Doing so lasts until the beginning of your next turn, though you may expend a swift action each round after the first to sustain the effect. While sustaining this effect is not a stance, it can be disrupted in exactly the same ways that stances are broken – either by being knocked prone, or subjected to any effect which reduces your number of available actions. Selective alignment can be used or sustained in the same round(s) in which you are also using a stance.

If your character's alignment is so powerful that it produces an aura, this skill use also alters the appearance of that aura, when someone looks at it. Any benefits provided to you or your allies by your aura continue to operate as before, but observing enemies believe the aura is attuned to the alignment you are pretending to have.

Once you have declared which alignment you wish to appear to be, you cannot change it without ending the first selective alignment and starting a new one, rolling a new skill check.

You only need to roll the divinity check once, when the effect is first activated, even if you sustain the effect for multiple rounds.

Note that pretending to be a different alignment may have implications for your real alignment, depending on what you do to 'maintain your cover'.

This is an epic skill use, and requires at least 21 ranks in the skill before it may be attempted.

Action Required:

Standard Action, and a swift action each round after the first to sustain the effect (if desired).

DC of Check:

A Challenging DC for your character level

Modifiers to Check

You can reduce the time taken to alter the appearance of your alignment. To initiate it as a move action, the DC increases by +5. As a swift action or immediate action, the DC increases by +10.

Take 10? / Take 20?

No

Allows Assists?

No

Results of Success

You are able to make observers believe your alignment is whatever you declared it to be, and that any effects caused by your aura are attuned to the alignment you declared, instead of your real alignment.

Consequences of Failure

If you fail the check, or you cease sustaining the effect, your true alignment becomes visible to anyone who is capable of discerning it, as is your aura (if any).

Retry Allowed?

Yes

Provokes AOO?

No

Pierce Immortality (Epic)

You may use divinity to destroy an undead creature forever, after it has been reduced to 0 or fewer hit points. To do so, you exert your will upon the remains of an undead creature and prevent it from ever arising again, severing the necromantic bond and banishing the evil spirit of the monster forever. This skill use can also be used to destroy phylacteries, which are normally immune to damage.

This is an epic skill use, and requires at least 21 ranks in the skill before it may be attempted.

Action Required:

Full round action

DC of Check:
  • Undead Creature: 10 + double the undead creature's CR
  • Phylactery: 15 + double the owner's CR
Modifiers to Check

You can attempt to destroy a phylactery in such a way that the owner is unaware that it has been destroyed, but doing so increases the target DC by +5.

Take 10? / Take 20?

No

Allows Assists?

Yes, but assisting allies must also have at least 21 ranks in divinity.

Results of Success

You permanently destroy the undead, rendering it incapable of returning to life. If destroying a phylactery, you destroy the phylactery. If you added +5 to the DC prior to the check, the phylactery is destroyed without alerting its owner to its destruction.

Consequences of Failure

You are unable to exert your divine will upon the subject, and its necromantic energies are still intact. Undead creatures will eventually return to unlife, while phylacteries remain usable by their owners.

Retry Allowed?

Yes, but you must wait 24 hours before attempting it again on the same creature or phylactery. Attempts in the meantime automatically fail.

Provokes AOO?

Yes

Sanctify Ground (Epic)

Once per day, you can present your holy symbol, and sanctify ground as though it were under the effects of Consecrate (Spell) or Desecrate (Spell).

This is an epic skill use, and requires at least 21 ranks in the skill before it may be attempted.

Action Required:

1 minute

DC of Check:

A hard DC for your character level

Modifiers to Check

-

Take 10? / Take 20?

No

Allows Assists?

Yes, but assisting allies must also have at least 21 ranks in divinity.

Results of Success

You are able to sanctify the ground, as per Consecrate (Spell) or Desecrate (Spell) (depending on your alignment).

Consequences of Failure

Nothing happens.

Retry Allowed?

You must wait 24 hours before trying again, as you can only use this ability once per day.

Provokes AOO?

Yes