Elemental Body III (Spell)
- Level: Sorcerer/Wizard 6
- School: Transmutation (polymorph)
- Casting Time: Standard Action
- Components: V, S, M (A prepared example of the element you plan to assume, worth 1 gp.)
- Range: Self
- Target or Area: you
- Duration: Until the end of the current encounter, the end of the next encounter, or until the start of a full night's rest, whichever is sooner
- Saving Throw: Harmless (Will negates)
Save DC: 10 + caster stat modifier + spell level
- Spell Resistance: Yes
- When you cast this spell, you change yourself into an elemental creature associated with one of the four classical Elements. You must choose at the time of casting one of the four Elements, Fire, Air, Water, or Earth. Once chosen, you may not change this form unless you change back to your normal form and cast this spell again. When you cast this spell, your body is utterly consumed by the element you choose, and all of your abilities become those of your new form.
- The base abilities of your new, elemental, form are based upon the template below. You gain all of the abilities of the template whose CR matches your character level at the time you cast this spell.
- This spell converts you completely and utterly into the form of the elemental creature you choose, and grants you a one-time bonus to a Disguise Skill roll if you wish to blend in with others of that sort (see the Blend In ability in the template you choose for details). Regardless of which element you choose to become, your actual type becomes Protean for the duration of the spell (and, as a result, you gain a vulnerability to silvered weapons, taking 50% extra damage from them).
- This spell always makes you into a sized Small, Medium, or Large Elemental Creature.
- If you choose an elemental form which is sized-small, the following rules apply: Size small creatures do not have to Squeeze to fit into a Small space (30 inches or greater, 1/2 of a square), add a +1 size bonus to AC (both regular and flat-footed), and Stealth checks, and suffer a -1 penalty to their Might skill and Maneuver Defense, and their Walk speed is reduced by -10 feet. Size Small creatures cannot share a 5-foot-square with another sized-small creature, unless squeezing.
- There are no size-based bonuses or penalties applied to sized-medium creatures.
- If you choose an elemental form which is sized-large, the following rules apply: Size large creatures do not have to Squeeze to fit into a Large space (120 inches or greater, 2 squares), suffer a -1 size penalty to AC (both regular and flat-footed), and Stealth checks, and gain a +1 bonus to their Might skill and Maneuver Defense, and their Walk speed is increased by +10 feet. Size Large creatures cannot share a 5-foot-square with another creature, unless squeezing.
- You gain the powers below, depending upon the type of element you choose. These powers are added to the base powers of the template you chose above, and never apply to your normal form.
- +1 to-hit with melee attacks.
- All damage is now Elemental. Refer to the form below for the type of damage you now inflict with all attacks.
- While you are polymorphed, you do not gain access to any of your normal abilities, or any of the abilities of any creature type you are emulating, unless it is part of your ability to change your shape. You cannot use feats or skills based upon your normal self, you do not gain or lose any modifiers for any Stats, you gain no benefit or penalty for any normal magic item, you do not have your normal armor class, hit points, maneuver offense or defense, saving throw bonuses, class abilities, or anything else. For all intents and purposes, the polymorph has 'overwritten' your entire self, and the only abilities you have are those of your assumed form, and any abilities granted to you by the change into this new shape.
- All damage you suffer while polymorphed is tallied against your new form's hit point total. If you change back to your normal form while still damaged, all of that damage transfers to your normal form as non-lethal damage. If you are driven unconscious (your hit points reduced to zero or less) while in your polymorphed form, the spell is immediately dispelled and you revert to your normal form, and all damage your polymorphed form suffered (including any negative hit points the 'final blow' gave you) is doubled, and then applied to your normal hit points as non-lethal damage. This is very likely to drive you unconscious, also leaving you helpless. If your polymorphed form was suffering from any disease, poison, or any other condition of any sort when the spell ends, then that condition transfers to your true form as well.
- While you are polymorphed, you may still be healed by your allies, and you still count as their ally for any abilities they possess.
- This spell lays an arcane or divine charge on its target(s), depending on the caster who is casting the spell. If the targets are something other than you or another creature (such as an object or area), the spell lays an arcane or divine charge on you, the caster. Divine casters lay a divine charge, and arcane casters lay an arcane charge. Targets which already have an arcane or divine charge present must choose which to keep if the new spell has the same charge type. Only one arcane charge and one divine charge can ever be present on a target at a time.