Gate (Spell)

From Epic Path
Jump to: navigation, search
Level: Sorcerer/Wizard 9
School: Conjuration
Domain: glory 9
Subdomain: trade 9
Elemental School: air 9, earth 9, fire 9, water 9

Casting

Casting Time: Standard Action
Components: V, S, M (a carving of a male head with a face on the front and back, worth 10,000 gp)

Effect

Range: Medium (100 ft. + 10 ft./lvl)
Target or Area: see text
Duration: Until the end of your next full night's rest
Saving Throw: Harmless (Will negates)
Save DC: 10 + caster stat modifier + 1/2 caster level
Spell Resistance: Yes

Description

Casting the ringing paeans of the Gate Spell causes the caster's voice to echo and reverberate strangely, as their words fall 'between' the normal dimensions and reflect oddly upon the structures that Lie Between. Upon completion, this mighty spell rips or coaxes forth (depending upon circumstances) an interdimensional connection between your plane of existence and another Material Plane you specify, allowing travel between those two planes in either direction. A Gate may not be used to reach the Astral Sea, or the Endless Dark. It may not open into the Ethereal Plane or the Shadow Plane. A Gate may not be opened between two points on the same Material Plane.
Other than those restrictions, a Gate may be opened to ANYWHERE on another Material Plane. The only restriction is that the caster must have detailed knowledge of where the Gate must reach, and finding such information about another Plane of Existence can be...difficult.
Gate can be used to reach the Elemental Planes, the realms of Fire, Earth, Water, and Air. Gate can be used to reach the Energy Planes, the realms of Light, Dark, Life, Death, and Force. Gate can be used to reach the Wards of the Will, any of the myriad Heavens, Hells, Limbos, and Purgatories, although entering any of the Wards is likely to draw the attention of the ruling Deity, for good or ill. Gate can even be used to reach the various un-numbered Lateral Material Planes, those unfortunate realms which have fallen from the Fount of Creation and are no longer thriving and vivacious places. The first and most mighty of those realms is the First World, the original plane of the Elves and the current source for all creatures of the Fey. Of course, there are untold trillions of the Lateral Realms, so be careful where you go....
The Gate itself appears as an eldritch circular hoop or disk from 5 to 20 feet in diameter (caster's choice) oriented in the direction you desire when it comes into existence (typically vertical and facing you). It is a two-dimensional window looking into the plane you specified when casting the spell, and anyone or anything that moves through is shunted instantly to the other side.
A Gate has a front and a back. Creatures moving through the Gate from the front are transported to the other plane; creatures moving through it from the back are not.
As a mode of planar travel, a Gate spell functions much like a Plane Shift (Spell), except that the Gate opens precisely at the point you desire (a creation effect). Deities and other beings who rule a planar realm can prevent a Gate from opening in their presence, personal demesnes, or indeed, anywhere in their Plane if they so desire...although oftimes, they will allow the Gate and simply place it where they wish, rather than where the caster wished. Journey with a Gate to the Wards (or any other deifically interesting planes) can be...interesting.
Travelers need not join hands with the caster, anyone who chooses to step through the portal is transported. A Gate cannot be opened to another point on the same plane; the spell works only for interplanar travel.
Once created, a Gate stays open until the durarion expires, it is dispelled or disjoined, an anti-magic field disrupts it, or it is dismissed by the caster using a standard action.
Note that a Gate is completely traversible by the denizens on either side! It is often wise to cast Gate in a securely locked room or other fortified place.
Gate places a charge on the Caster (see below) that persists as long as the Gate does, but it does NOT place a charge on any creatures that traverse it.
This spell lays an arcane or divine charge on its target(s), depending on the caster who is casting the spell. If the targets are something other than you or another creature (such as an object or area), the spell lays an arcane or divine charge on you, the caster. Divine casters lay a divine charge, and arcane casters lay an arcane charge. Targets which already have an arcane or divine charge present must choose which to keep if the new spell has the same charge type. Only one arcane charge and one divine charge can ever be present on a target at a time.