Lesser Polymorph (Spell)

From Epic Path
Jump to: navigation, search
Level: Sorcerer/Wizard 3
School: Transmutation (polymorph)

Casting

Casting Time: Standard Action
Components: V, S, M (A piece of the creature whose form you plan to assume, worth 1 gp...depending upon the creature....)

Effect

Range: Self
Target or Area: you
Duration: Until the end of the current encounter, the end of the next encounter, or until the start of a full night's rest, whichever is sooner
Saving Throw: Harmless (Will negates)
Save DC: -
Spell Resistance: Yes

Description

When you cast this spell, you can assume the form of a creature from the following list of templates, with a CR equal to your character level at the time you cast the spell.
Natural Attacks (No Ranged)
CR 1 CR 2 CR 3 CR 4 CR 5 CR 6 CR 7 CR 8 CR 9 CR 10
CR 11 CR 12 CR 13 CR 14 CR 15 CR 16 CR 17 CR 18 CR 19 CR 20
CR 21 CR 22 CR 23 CR 24 CR 25 CR 26 CR 27 CR 28 CR 29 CR 30
CR 31 CR 32 CR 33 CR 34 CR 35
Melee Attacks (No Ranged)
CR 1 CR 2 CR 3 CR 4 CR 5 CR 6 CR 7 CR 8 CR 9 CR 10
CR 11 CR 12 CR 13 CR 14 CR 15 CR 16 CR 17 CR 18 CR 19 CR 20
CR 21 CR 22 CR 23 CR 24 CR 25 CR 26 CR 27 CR 28 CR 29 CR 30
CR 31 CR 32 CR 33 CR 34 CR 35
Lesser Polymorph converts you completely and utterly into the form of the creature you choose, and grants you a one-time bonus to a Disguise Skill roll if you wish to blend in with others of that sort (see the Blend In ability in the template you choose for details). Lesser Polymorph is limited, however, in that you may only polymorph yourself into a Small or Medium creature of any type that has no ranged attack abilities. This means you can assume the form of any Player Race, or any Monster of size Medium or Small. Regardless of which type or race you choose, your actual type becomes Protean for the duration of the spell (and, as a result, you gain a vulnerability to silvered weapons, taking 50% extra damage from them).
Note that if you choose a form which is sized-small, the following rules apply: Size small creatures do not have to Squeeze to fit into a Small space (30 inches or greater, 1/2 of a square), add a +1 size bonus to AC (both regular and flat-footed), and Stealth checks, and suffer a -1 penalty to their Might skill and Maneuver Defense, and their Walk speed is reduced by -10 feet. Size Small creatures cannot share a 5-foot-square with another sized-small creature, unless squeezing. There are no size-based bonuses or penalties applied to sized-medium creatures.
You may choose one additional power from the list below when you assume your polymorphed shape, but if the form you assume does not normally possess the ability you choose, then your Disguise skill check to blend in as a member of your new form suffers a -4 penalty.
While you are polymorphed, you do not gain access to any of your normal abilities, or any of the abilities of any creature type you are emulating, unless it is part of your ability to change your shape. You cannot use feats or skills based upon your normal self, you do not gain or lose any modifiers for any Stats, you gain no benefit or penalty for any normal magic item, you do not have your normal armor class, hit points, maneuver offense or defense, saving throw bonuses, class abilities, or anything else. For all intents and purposes, the polymorph has 'overwritten' your entire self, and the only abilities you have are those of your assumed form, and any abilities granted to you by the change into this new shape.
All damage you suffer while polymorphed is tallied against your new form's hit point total. If you change back to your normal form while still damaged, all of that damage transfers to your normal form as non-lethal damage. If you are driven unconscious (your hit points reduced to zero or less) while in your polymorphed form, the spell is immediately dispelled and you revert to your normal form, and all damage your polymorphed form suffered (including any negative hit points the 'final blow' gave you) is doubled, and then applied to your normal hit points as non-lethal damage. This is very likely to drive you unconscious, also leaving you helpless. If your polymorphed form was suffering from any disease, poison, or any other condition of any sort when the spell ends, then that condition transfers to your true form as well.
While you are polymorphed, you may still be healed by your allies, and you still count as their ally for any abilities they possess.
This spell lays an arcane or divine charge on its target(s), depending on the caster who is casting the spell. If the targets are something other than you or another creature (such as an object or area), the spell lays an arcane or divine charge on you, the caster. Divine casters lay a divine charge, and arcane casters lay an arcane charge. Targets which already have an arcane or divine charge present must choose which to keep if the new spell has the same charge type. Only one arcane charge and one divine charge can ever be present on a target at a time.