Colossal Summoning (Feat)

From Epic Path
Revision as of 20:48, 11 June 2021 by Reese (talk | contribs)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

You reach into the far reaches of the multiverse to call forth giant-sized versions of your minions, because size DOES matter.

Prerequisites: Level 16

Benefit: Whenever you summon a creature or creatures with a summon monster or gate spell you cast yourself (which may include the use of a magic item), the summoned creature(s) may gain the following benefits:

  • Its size increases by one step (typically from Medium (a 5x5x5 foot cube) to Large (a 10x10x10 foot cube)).
  • Its melee reach increases by 5 feet (typically to 10 feet). This is considered Inclusive Reach.

Special: This feat may be taken more than once. Each time it is taken, the summoned creature's size increases by another step, and its reach increases by another 5 feet. Note that larger creatures will frequently have problems navigating the tight confines of most indoor areas (and even some outdoor ones), and they are subject to the squeezing rules when attempting to move through or occupy spaces smaller than their size.

Special: Druids who take this feat may apply its effects to their Animal Companion (in addition to any summoned creatures they cast themselves, of course). Applying, changing, or removing the effects of this feat may only be done after a full night's rest, and once applied, the effects persist until removed. Only one Summons-based feat may ever be applied to an Animal Companion at a time.

Generally, there is no limitation on how many Summons-based feats can be applied simultaneously to a summoned creature (or creatures) that you cast yourself, other than the number of Summons-based feats you actually possess. The caster can choose to apply (or not apply) each feat (or all such feats) at the time the summon monster spell is cast. However, some feats specifically list other Summons-based feats that they are incompatible with. In such cases, only one of the conflicting patterns can be applied.